top of page

How to determine your grade for this class


This week's Twitter Assignment: What advice would you give students who will take this class next semester? (Remember, you need 10 tweets on the class account every week as well as your Promo plan).

You have been working on your Wix page all semester. Your Wix page represents a portfolio of all the work you have accomplished all semester. You should be proud of this work.

On Canvas, you may see the entry for Wix/ePortfolio which is worth 1,640 points. Everything you have accomplished and placed on your Wix page goes toward those points with an additional 60 added for webdesign. We have discussed how your page looks all semester, but if you would like additional feedback on your page and how to improve it, feel free to set up an appointment with me during Office Hours.

I have added additional Office Hours this week for those last minute questions. I have availability on Tuesday 1-3 pm, Wednesday 1-3 pm, and Thursday 1-3 pm.

Something you should know: Canvas is not perfect. Especially because this time of the semester, you may see changes on Canvas. Your letter grade calculations might convert to points-based calculations OR you might see that I turn off your grades in anticipation of calculating your final Wix grade. Don't panic. But if you have had a C all semester and suddenly have an A, don't assume that is your final grade. Basically, Canvas is sometimes a liar.

But we don't need Canvas to do the math for us. We can do the math ourselves.

Over the course of this semester, you have had the potential to earn 2,000 points. I made for you a grade calculation sheet. Download the form. Go to Canvas and enter the points you have received for each assignment. The Excel sheet should add the points for you.

1,680 - The Wix/ePortfolio - ** THESE POINTS ARE ONLY EARNED IF THE ASSIGNMENTS ARE ACCESSIBLE AND VISIBLE ON YOUR WIX SITE. I DON'T AWARD POINTS FOR MISSING ASSIGNMENTS OR BROKEN LINKS, EVEN IF THE LINK WORKED EARLIER **

60 - Participation Projects - Can't be made up. Either you participated in these assignments or you did not.

260 - Twitter - Also, cannot be made up. You either posted 10 times that week or you did not.

Note: Again, you are only awarded Wix points for items which appear on the Wix page. If you "forget" to post something on your Wix page, you will not receive the points for it, even if the points were already counted on Canvas.

Once you add your totals in each of these areas, divide by 2,000, and you have your grade. According to the requirements set by the State of Florida, College Level Writing students must make at least a C- or higher. Otherwise you have to repeat ENC2135. A C- is 70-72.

If you have completed any Extra Credit assignments, you should have already received an email confirming that and reporting how many points you have earned. On the spreadsheet, you will see a space for your Extra Credit Points.

I have not graded everything, but I am working on it.

If you have revised your P1 or P2, that revised grade will replace the existing grade. I have not graded those either. Know that no one's grade goes down after revision. If you make substantial revision, you will see a grade increase. If you do not make substantial revision, your grade will remain the same. You may not see this on Canvas until after the semester is complete.

If you have any questions regarding this, you can contact me via Google Hangouts.

I will NOT discuss grades via Twitter, email, or Canvas messages. Make an appointment and call in at your scheduled time. I have extra office hours set up this week just for that purpose.

I am happy to discuss your grade with you. I am happy to resolve any errors. What I cannot do is arbitrarily change your grade, round something up which was not intended to be rounded up, or "throw a couple of points your way because having an A in this class would really help your GPA." I am not responsible for the status of your scholarship or the reaction of your parents. You are. I am also not going to magically create an extra credit assignment for you to complete at the end of this already jam-packed semester. I have given out more extra credit opportunities this semester than any other in the past.

When I begin grading Wix/ePortfolios, I will mute most of the assignments where you cannot see your points anymore. However, I will not be grading them until after December 6.

We don't have a final in this class. I am not accessible to discuss grades after they have been posted. Once grades have been posted, I do not have the power to adjust grades. I could meet with you at the beginning of next semester to review your grades with you.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page